Some Inspiration from Frederick Buechner:

43cdd8e890de67d9cd6c90e80b334a91

I took my copy of ‘The Magnificent Defeat’ off the shelf yesterday to lend to a friend. Frederick Buechner is one of my all-time favorite writers. His prose is like glittering poetry. His heart seems made out of diamonds to write like he does. I constantly have to put his books down for a moment and stare off, saying, “Wowwww,” then go back and hungrily re-read what I just read.

Suddenly realizing I would be without a book I had not opened in a long time, I felt compelled to go through it to re-read all the parts I had underlined. I felt much like a mother kissing good-bye her high school graduate who is leaving for college, unsure when I would see my child again and knowing there would be a hole in my heart (or on my bookcase) in its absence.

I copied down some of the lines that impacted me today, from lines that had impacted me when I originally read the book about 7 or so years ago.

I hope they will do something for you as well…

“Faith is the word that describes the direction our feet start moving when we know we are loved. Faith is stepping out into the unknown with nothing to guide us but a hand just beyond our grasp.”

“The secret of prayer is persistence. Keep at it, keep speaking into the darkness, and even if nothing comes, speak again and then again. And finally the answer is given.”

“We have heard so much tragic news that when the news is good we cannot hear it. But the proclamation of Easter Day is that all is well.”

“To be wise is to be eternally curious.”

“[Christ] suffers wherever anyone suffers.”

“We need poets or children or lunatics to show us the miracles we do not notice.”

“The storyteller’s claim, I believe, is that life has meaning…The power of stories is that they are telling us that life adds up somehow, that life itself is like a story.”

RTEmagicC_Buechner-0269.jpg

Leave a Reply

